The Legislature

The Legislature

The Legislature

According to the new constitution, the Legislature is held responsible for advocating for the people’s interest in law making. In addition to that, it is vested in two houses - the national assembly and the senate. The adoption of the new constitution adds an interesting twist to law making. This is because

the old constitution exclusively placed the law making process in the hands of parliament.

The National Assembly

The specific roles of the national assembly are:

 Members of the national assembly are obligated to represent their constituents and all the special interests within their respective constituencies

 Enactment of legislation for both county and national government

 Approval or disapproval of revenue allocation presented by the senate, determining the national distribution across the counties.

 Check the conduct of the executive and other state officers and if necessary initiate the process of removal of president, deputy president and other state officers.

 Exercise oversight over state organs and approve the state of emergency and declaration of war.


The Senate

The roles of the Kenya Senate under the new constitution are:

 Debate and approve county bills

 Determine the allocation of national revenue to be distributed according to the counties

 Represent the interests of the counties at the national level

 Consider and determine the resolution of impeachment of the president or his/her deputy